Jupiter is the fifth planet from the sun. It is the largest planet in the solar system and it is the largest of the outer planets. The outer planets are: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune are called "gas giants" because they are mostly made of gases and are very large. Pluto is believed to be covered with ice.

Jupiter is named after the Roman "King of the gods". Jupiter was the leader of the made-up gods that the Romans who lived long, long ago believed in. The planet is named Jupiter because it is so big!

Jupiter is mostly made of a gas called hydrogen. Its atmosphere has three layers of clouds in it. The first layer of clouds is made of ammonia. Ammonia is the stinky stuff that is used to clean floors and is found in spray-cleaners like window cleaners. The second layer of clouds is made of ammonia and sulphur. Sulpher is the material found on the head of a match that makes it light. The third layer of clouds is made of water vapor. Jupiter has a lot of storms in its atmosphere. The spot in this picture is a storm on Jupiter. Scientists call this Jupiter's red spot. It is a storm which has been going on for about 300 years!!! It is 2 times as big as our whole planet Earth. This storm is like a giant hurricane. It has winds that blow as fast as 270 miles per hour!! The Red Spot is the biggest storm in the Solar system.

Mercury Venus Earth Mars Jupiter
Mercury Venus Earth Mars Jupiter
Saturn Uranus Neptune pluto
Saturn Uranus Neptune Pluto


May God Bless you
Article by: Mr. Jayesh Dave
Date Write: 02 June, 2012